For most people seeking AI photo editing software, I’d start with Adobe Photoshop for its broad editing toolkit and generative features; Adobe Lightroom is a stronger fit for organizing and refining photo libraries, while CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra offers an approachable blend of AI tools and creative design features. The main tradeoff is between guided automation and hands-on control, with subscription access, license length, and Windows or Mac compatibility also shaping the choice. A simpler editor can speed up routine fixes, while a professional suite gives more room to refine difficult images but asks more of the user. I compare all 15 options by workflow fit, usability, creative control, and licensing so you can find the right match.
Get business pricing on tech for your team
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Key Takeaways
- Photoshop and Lightroom serve different jobs: Photoshop is the broader choice for layered edits and compositing, while Lightroom focuses on photo organization and repeatable image adjustments.
- PhotoDirector is the lineup’s accessible creative middle ground: its 2027 Ultra edition pairs AI editing with design tools, while the 2026 editions and bundled PowerDirector offer different software combinations.
- Adobe’s Elements editions favor guided editing: the standalone photo version keeps the focus on still images; the Photoshop and Premiere Elements bundle adds video editing, with a three-year license rather than a recurring subscription.
- Creative Cloud Pro is the broadest suite, not the simplest photo editor: its many apps and generative features make sense for people who will use more than one creative tool.
- License format and platform support can outweigh feature lists: this roundup includes subscriptions, longer-term licenses, desktop-focused products, and Windows- or Mac-compatible options, so check the exact edition before choosing.
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 – AI Photo Editor for Windows | ![]() | Best for Hands-On AI Retouching | Operating system: Windows 11 | AI object removal: Included | AI image enhancer: Included | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra – AI Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software for Windows | ![]() | Best Subscription-Free Creative Toolkit | Platform: Windows | Software type: Photo editing and graphic design | Purchase model: Subscription-free | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 2027 Student & Teacher Edition | AI-Powered Photo & Video Editing Software | ![]() | Best Guided Photo-and-Video Bundle | Platform: PC and Mac | License term: 3 years | Edition: Student & Teacher | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB Subscription – AI-assisted Photo Editor for PC/Mac | ![]() | Best for Cloud-Based Editing | Platform: PC and Mac | Subscription duration: 12 months | Auto-renewal: Yes | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB | AI-assisted photo editor | 24-Month Subscription for PC/Mac | ![]() | Best for a Longer Lightroom Commitment | Platform: PC and Mac | Subscription duration: 24 months | Format: Digital download | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| PhotoPad Photo Editing and Image Editor | ![]() | Best for Straightforward Edits | Supported formats: JPG, PNG, GIF, and more | Operating system: Windows (all) | Editing tools: Crop, resize, color adjustment, text, and filters | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Creative Cloud Pro | 20+ Creative Apps & Generative AI for Photo, Design, Video & More | 1-Year Subscription | ![]() | Best for a Full Creative Workflow | Number of apps: 20+ | Subscription duration: 1 year | Included apps: Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, Acrobat Pro, Adobe Firefly, Lightroom, InDesign, After Effects, and others | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Corel PaintShop Pro 2023 Ultimate Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software (PC Download) | ![]() | Best for Windows Editing Variety | Software type: Photo editing and graphic design | Platform: PC; Windows 10 or 11 | Languages: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Traditional Chinese, and Japanese | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Photoshop | Professional Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software | 1-Year Subscription | ![]() | Best for Advanced AI Retouching | Platform: PC and Mac | Subscription duration: 1 year | Operating systems: Windows 10/11 and macOS 14/15/26 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 2027 | AI-Powered Photo & Video Editing Software | 3-Year License | PC/Mac | ![]() | Best for Guided Photo-and-Video Editing | Platform: PC and Mac | License term: 3 years | Processor: 64-bit Intel Core 9th Gen or AMD with AVX2 and SSE4.2 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements 2027 – AI-Powered Photo Editing Software – 3-Year License (PC/Mac) | ![]() | Best for Guided Editing | Operating system: Windows 11, macOS | Processor: 64-bit Intel Core 9th Gen or newer; AMD with AVX2 and SSE4.2 support | RAM: 8 GB minimum; 16 GB recommended | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Luminar AI Photo Editing Software for Mac and Windows 10 Pro – 2 Seats | ![]() | Best for Fast Creative Portrait and Sky Edits | Operating systems: Windows 10, Mac OS X | Processor: 64-bit | Memory: 10 GB | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Skylum Luminar AI Photo Editing Software – Lifetime License for Desktop, Mobile, and Web | ![]() | Best for Cross-Platform Flexibility | Platforms: Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web | License: Lifetime | Supported formats: RAW, JPEG, PNG | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberLink PowerDirector & PhotoDirector 2026 | AI Video and Photo Editing Software for Windows | ![]() | Best Photo-and-Video Bundle | Compatibility: Windows 10/11, 64-bit | Included applications: PowerDirector 2026 and PhotoDirector 2026 | License: Lifetime license for both applications | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | AI Photo Editing Software for Windows | ![]() | Best for Batch Photo Cleanup | Platform: Windows | Software type: AI photo editing software | AI editing features: Object removal, face retouch, wire removal, background removal | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AI photo editing software | Platform |
|---|---|
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | — |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 U | Windows |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Pre | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB Subscripti | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB | AI-assis | PC and Mac |
| PhotoPad Photo Editing and Ima | — |
| Adobe Creative Cloud Pro | 20+ | — |
| Corel PaintShop Pro 2023 Ultim | PC; Windows 10 or 11 |
| Adobe Photoshop | Professional | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Pre | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements 2027 | — |
| Luminar AI Photo Editing Softw | — |
| Skylum Luminar AI Photo Editin | — |
| CyberLink PowerDirector & Phot | — |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | | Windows |
More Details on Our Top Picks
CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 – AI Photo Editor for Windows
PhotoDirector 2026 suits Windows users who want AI to speed up precise edits without giving up layer-based control. Its object removal, wire removal, and image enhancement target common cleanup jobs, while face and body retouching helps with portraits. Compared with Adobe Lightroom, this is a Windows-only option rather than a cloud-centered editing and organizing workflow; that makes it a more focused fit for desktop retouching, but less flexible for editing across devices. Layer editing and creative effects give experienced users room to refine results beyond one-click changes. The tradeoff is access and ease: it requires Windows 11, and the available details do not clarify licensing. Beginners may also need time to learn the broader editing tools.
Pros:- AI object and wire removal can speed up cleanup of distracting details
- Face and body retouching supports portrait-focused edits
- Layer editing and creative effects allow more control than a simple one-click enhancer
Cons:- Requires Windows 11, excluding Mac users and older PCs
- The broader toolset may take time for new editors to learn
- License terms are not specified in the supplied product details
Best for: Windows 11 users who want AI-assisted object cleanup and portrait retouching alongside layer-based creative editing
Not ideal for: Mac users, people on earlier Windows versions, and beginners seeking a clearly guided or cross-device workflow
- Operating system:Windows 11
- AI object removal:Included
- AI image enhancer:Included
- Wire removal:Included
- Quick actions:Included
- Face and body retouching:Included
- Editing capabilities:Layer editing and creative effects
Our verdict“Choose PhotoDirector 2026 if you use Windows 11 and want targeted AI retouching with room for manual layer work.”
CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra – AI Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software for Windows
PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra is the strongest fit here for Windows buyers who want photo editing and graphic-design tools in one package without an ongoing subscription. Its AI editing, background removal, batch editing, and AI artwork generation cover both routine cleanup and more expressive projects. Compared with PhotoDirector 2026, this edition adds stated batch-editing and design-oriented capabilities, so it better suits people producing multiple assets or social content. The purchase model is a clear distinction from Adobe Lightroom, which is sold as a subscription and ties its workflow to cloud storage. There are caveats: the supplied details say generative features may need extra credits or cost, despite 300 first-year credits, and advanced controls can be a hurdle for new editors. Cloud storage is also limited to 25GB for one year.
Pros:- Subscription-free purchase model gives buyers an alternative to Lightroom’s recurring plan
- AI background removal and editing tools cover common creative tasks
- Batch editing helps apply changes across multiple images
- Includes 25GB of CyberLink Cloud storage for one year and 300 first-year credits
Cons:- Some generative features may require extra credits or incur additional costs
- Advanced editing and design tools may be challenging for new users
- Cloud storage is limited to one year, and the software is for Windows
Best for: Windows creators who want a one-time-purchase editing toolkit for batch work, background removal, and AI-assisted graphics
Not ideal for: Mac users, beginners who want a very guided workflow, or frequent generative-AI users who need predictable ongoing credit access
- Platform:Windows
- Software type:Photo editing and graphic design
- Purchase model:Subscription-free
- Cloud storage:25GB for 1 year
- Included credits:300 for the first year
- Editing features:AI editing, background removal, layer editing, and batch editing
- Creative tools:AI artwork generation and photo-to-video transformation
Our verdict“Pick PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra if you want a Windows-based, subscription-free alternative with both AI photo tools and design features.”
Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 2027 Student & Teacher Edition | AI-Powered Photo & Video Editing Software
This Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements bundle makes sense for students and teachers who want AI-assisted photo edits plus video tools in the same package. Guided modes give newer editors a route into common adjustments, while advanced modes leave space to work more directly. That mix makes it more approachable than the broader creative toolset in CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra, but this bundle’s clearest advantage is the inclusion of video editing rather than a narrower focus on still images. Its three-year license offers a defined term, not a perpetual license, and the student-and-teacher edition is intended for that audience. The system requirements are also a real filter: it calls for Windows 11 or macOS 15.5 or later, 8GB of RAM, and 14.7GB of storage. Internet access is needed for activation and online content.
Pros:- Guided and advanced modes support different editing skill levels
- Combines photo editing and video editing in one bundle
- AI-powered enhancements and creative effects can speed up common edits
- Includes 360° and VR video editing capabilities
Cons:- Requires Windows 11 or macOS 15.5 or later, plus 8GB RAM and 14.7GB storage
- Internet connection is required for activation and online content
- The license is limited to three years and the edition is aimed at students and teachers
Best for: Students and teachers who want guided AI photo editing and video editing under one three-year license
Not ideal for: Users with older computers, people who only need photo editing, or buyers seeking a perpetual license
- Platform:PC and Mac
- License term:3 years
- Edition:Student & Teacher
- Included software:Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements
- AI features:Yes
- Photo and video editing:Both included
- System requirements:Windows 11 or macOS 15.5 or later; 8GB RAM; 14.7GB storage
- Video capabilities:360° and VR editing
Our verdict“Choose this bundle if you qualify for the student-and-teacher edition and want guided photo editing alongside video creation.”
Adobe Lightroom 1TB Subscription – AI-assisted Photo Editor for PC/Mac
Adobe Lightroom is the clearest choice in this group for photographers who want AI-assisted edits and an organized library that follows them across devices. Its 1TB of cloud storage and sync support a more connected workflow than the Windows-focused PhotoDirector editions, while presets and an accessible interface make it usable across experience levels. AI tools include object removal and portrait effects, with 250 AI credits each month for generative features. Compared with the 24-month Lightroom option in this lineup, this version has a 12-month term, which means a shorter commitment but an earlier renewal decision. That flexibility does not remove the recurring cost: auto-renewal is on, and cloud features depend on internet access. Buyers who want a one-time purchase should look instead at PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra.
Pros:- Cloud sync supports editing across devices
- Includes 1TB of cloud storage for photo access and backup
- AI tools include object removal and portrait effects
- Provides 250 AI credits per month for generative features
Cons:- Subscription renews after 12 months, with auto-renewal enabled
- Cloud features depend on an internet connection
- Recurring subscription model is less suitable for buyers seeking a perpetual license
Best for: Photographers who edit across PC, Mac, and other synced devices and want cloud storage plus monthly generative-AI credits
Not ideal for: Buyers who avoid subscriptions, work mostly offline, or prefer a one-time desktop editor
- Platform:PC and Mac
- Subscription duration:12 months
- Auto-renewal:Yes
- Cloud storage:1TB
- Cloud sync:Yes
- Monthly AI credits:250
- AI-assisted features:Object removal and portrait effects
Our verdict“Choose this Lightroom plan if cross-device editing and 1TB of synced storage matter more to you than a one-time license.”
Adobe Lightroom 1TB | AI-assisted photo editor | 24-Month Subscription for PC/Mac
This 24-month Lightroom subscription suits photographers who already want Adobe’s cloud-based editing workflow and prefer a longer plan period than the 12-month Lightroom option in this roundup. It includes 1TB of storage, cross-device cloud sync, and 250 monthly AI credits, with tools such as Generative Remove, Lens Blur, Quick Actions, and text prompts. Those features can reduce time spent on cleanup and effects, while Lightroom’s organizing tools support larger photo libraries. Compared with CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra, Lightroom puts more emphasis on synced access and collection management than on a subscription-free desktop purchase. The tradeoff is commitment: this is a digital subscription with no perpetual license, and its richer feature set may take beginners time to learn. It shares the same stated monthly AI credit allowance as the 12-month plan, so the longer term is the main distinction here.
Pros:- 1TB of cloud storage supports access and backup across devices
- Includes Generative Remove, Lens Blur, Quick Actions, and text prompts
- 250 monthly AI credits support generative features
- Includes Lightroom Classic tools for detailed photo management and editing
Cons:- Requires a 24-month subscription and offers no perpetual license
- The feature set can take beginners time to learn
- Cloud-based access may not suit photographers who need an offline-first workflow
Best for: Photographers committed to Lightroom who want a two-year cloud workflow with AI editing, synced access, and library tools
Not ideal for: People who want a perpetual license, prefer local-only editing, or are unsure about committing to a 24-month subscription
- Platform:PC and Mac
- Subscription duration:24 months
- Format:Digital download
- Cloud storage:1TB
- Monthly AI credits:250
- AI features:Generative Remove, Lens Blur, Quick Actions, and text prompts
- Cloud sync:Included
- Photo management:Lightroom Classic tools included
Our verdict“Choose this plan if you are already committed to Lightroom and want its cloud and AI workflow for a longer subscription term.”
PhotoPad Photo Editing and Image Editor
PhotoPad is the simplest fit here for routine edits such as cropping, resizing, color adjustments, and adding text or filters. Its drag-and-drop interface and broad format support make it less demanding to pick up than Adobe Photoshop, whose advanced layers and AI tools suit more involved creative work. PhotoPad’s effects and collage or panorama tools add room for casual projects, but the supplied details do not identify specific AI editing features. That makes it a weaker match for shoppers who want AI-driven object removal or generative editing as the main reason to buy. I’d choose it for accessible image touch-ups, not for a professional workflow: the product information gives little detail about advanced controls, and lists Windows support only.
Pros:- Drag-and-drop interface lowers the barrier to basic photo edits.
- Offers filters and effects for quick creative changes.
- Supports JPG, PNG, GIF, and other image formats.
- Includes tools for collages and panoramas.
Cons:- The supplied product details do not specify AI-powered editing features.
- Advanced editing capabilities are not clearly described.
- The listed operating system support is limited to Windows.
Best for: Windows users who want an approachable editor for cropping, color corrections, filters, text, and occasional collages.
Not ideal for: Photographers seeking documented AI tools, advanced retouching controls, or a Mac-compatible editor.
- Supported formats:JPG, PNG, GIF, and more
- Operating system:Windows (all)
- Editing tools:Crop, resize, color adjustment, text, and filters
- Creative tools:Collage and panorama creation
- Interface:Drag-and-drop
- Software type:Photo editing and image editor
Our verdict“Choose PhotoPad for uncomplicated Windows image edits, but pick Photoshop if AI-assisted retouching and advanced control matter more.”
Adobe Creative Cloud Pro | 20+ Creative Apps & Generative AI for Photo, Design, Video & More | 1-Year Subscription
Creative Cloud Pro is the broadest option in this group: Photoshop, Lightroom, Adobe Firefly, and more than 20 other apps sit under one subscription. For photo editing, that breadth means I can pair AI-assisted image work with design, video, and document tools instead of stopping at a standalone editor. Compared with Adobe Photoshop, this bundle makes more sense for people who will use several creative applications; Photoshop is the more focused choice for image editing alone. The tradeoff is commitment: access lasts one year and requires a subscription, while the listed hardware needs are substantial at 16 GB RAM and 10 GB of disk space. The bundle also requires an internet connection for activation, so it is excessive for someone who only needs occasional photo fixes.
Pros:- Includes more than 20 creative apps, including Photoshop, Lightroom, and Premiere Pro.
- Adobe Firefly adds generative AI tools to a wider creative toolkit.
- Includes 100 GB of cloud storage, templates, fonts, and tutorials.
- Regular updates add tools and features during the subscription term.
Cons:- Access is subscription-based and limited to a one-year term.
- The listed 16 GB RAM requirement may rule out lower-spec computers.
- Internet access is required for activation.
Best for: Photographers, designers, and video creators who expect to use several Adobe apps and AI tools across a connected workflow.
Not ideal for: People who only want a focused photo editor or prefer to avoid a recurring subscription and higher hardware requirements.
- Number of apps:20+
- Subscription duration:1 year
- Included apps:Photoshop, Illustrator, Premiere Pro, Acrobat Pro, Adobe Firefly, Lightroom, InDesign, After Effects, and others
- Cloud storage:100 GB
- Platform compatibility:Windows 10/11 and macOS
- RAM requirement:16 GB
- Hard drive space:10 GB
- Internet:Required for activation
Our verdict“Choose Creative Cloud Pro if you will use its photo, design, and video apps together; for photo editing alone, Photoshop is the more focused pick.”
Corel PaintShop Pro 2023 Ultimate Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software (PC Download)
PaintShop Pro 2023 Ultimate brings AI tools into a Windows-focused editing suite that also handles RAW files, HDR, batch processing, and graphic design. Its customizable workspaces and included extras—such as ParticleShop and Painter Essentials 8—give creative users more ways to shape projects than PhotoPad, which is positioned around simpler edits and effects. Compared with Adobe Photoshop, PaintShop Pro presents a broader set of bundled creative tools, but the supplied details do not establish the same cross-platform reach: this edition is for Windows 10 or 11. The minimum requirements are less demanding than Creative Cloud Pro’s listed RAM requirement, though it still calls for a compatible processor and recent Windows system. Buyers should also account for possible separate installations for some included features.
Pros:- Combines AI tools with RAW editing, HDR creation, and batch processing.
- Customizable workspaces support different editing approaches.
- Includes creative extras such as ParticleShop and Painter Essentials 8.
- Supports Adobe PSD and multiple other image formats.
Cons:- Limited to Windows 10 and Windows 11.
- Some included features may require additional installation or separate software.
- The listed minimum requirements include a compatible Intel i5 or AMD Ryzen processor.
Best for: Windows photographers and hobbyist designers who want AI tools, RAW and HDR editing, batch processing, and bundled creative extras.
Not ideal for: Mac users, or people who want a clearly documented, streamlined AI-only editor without extra software installations.
- Software type:Photo editing and graphic design
- Platform:PC; Windows 10 or 11
- Languages:English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Traditional Chinese, and Japanese
- Minimum processor:Intel i5 or AMD Ryzen
- Minimum memory:4 GB RAM
- Minimum disk space:3 GB
- File support:Adobe PSD and various image formats
- Additional editing features:AI tools, RAW editing, HDR, batch processing, and customizable workspaces
Our verdict“Choose PaintShop Pro Ultimate for a feature-rich Windows editing and design toolkit; choose Photoshop if cross-platform access is a higher priority.”
Adobe Photoshop | Professional Photo Editing & Graphic Design Software | 1-Year Subscription
Photoshop is the most focused professional editor in this set, combining AI-powered tools with layers, masking, portrait retouching, and object removal. Those controls make it better suited to detailed image work than PhotoPad, which is geared toward accessible adjustments and effects. Unlike Creative Cloud Pro, this listing centers on Photoshop rather than bundling 20-plus apps, so it fits buyers who want a deep editing tool without needing a whole creative suite. That focus still comes with a learning curve and a one-year subscription. Activation, updates, and online services require internet access, and the listed system needs include 8 GB of RAM minimum and 10 GB of available storage. I’d skip it for quick, occasional edits if a simpler editor would do the job.
Pros:- AI-powered tools support photo enhancement and object removal.
- Layers, masking, and retouching tools allow detailed control.
- Works across desktop, mobile, and web platforms.
- Supports professional photo editing and graphic design workflows.
Cons:- Requires a one-year subscription.
- Advanced controls can be more than casual editors need.
- Internet access is required for activation, updates, and online services.
Best for: Photographers, designers, and content creators who need detailed retouching, masking, object removal, and AI-assisted image work.
Not ideal for: Casual editors who want a simple interface, a non-subscription license, or software that does not depend on online activation and services.
- Platform:PC and Mac
- Subscription duration:1 year
- Operating systems:Windows 10/11 and macOS 14/15/26
- Processor:64-bit multicore Intel, AMD, Windows ARM, or Apple silicon
- RAM:8 GB minimum; 16 GB recommended
- Storage:10 GB available space
- Graphics:DirectX 12-compatible GPU on Windows or Metal-compatible GPU on Mac; at least 1.5 GB GPU memory
- Internet:Required for activation, updates, and online services
Our verdict“Choose Photoshop for hands-on professional editing and AI-assisted retouching; pick PhotoPad for simpler, less demanding edits.”
Adobe Photoshop Elements & Premiere Elements 2027 | AI-Powered Photo & Video Editing Software | 3-Year License | PC/Mac
Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements pair guided photo editing with video tools, making this bundle a practical fit for people who organize and create across both media. Guided and full creative modes give beginners a clearer route into edits than Adobe Photoshop, whose deeper layer and masking controls suit users who want more direct control. The three-year license also differs from Photoshop’s one-year subscription, though it does not remove the need for internet access: activation and online content require it. AI-powered tools and automatic media tagging help streamline common tasks, while the bundle’s video editor adds value for family clips or social content. The tradeoff is a sizable system footprint, with 14.7 GB of storage and higher memory recommendations for HD or 4K work.
Pros:- Combines AI-assisted photo editing with video editing tools.
- Guided and full creative modes accommodate different skill levels.
- Media organization includes automatic tagging and backup features.
- Works on both PC and Mac.
Cons:- Requires internet access for activation and online content.
- Needs 14.7 GB of available storage, with higher memory recommended for HD and 4K.
- Some advanced features may take time for new users to learn.
Best for: Families and beginner-to-intermediate creators who want guided photo edits, video tools, and media organization in one PC/Mac bundle.
Not ideal for: Professional photo editors seeking Photoshop’s extensive manual controls, or users with limited storage and memory for video work.
- Platform:PC and Mac
- License term:3 years
- Processor:64-bit Intel Core 9th Gen or AMD with AVX2 and SSE4.2
- RAM:8 GB; 16 GB recommended for HD and 32 GB for 4K
- Storage:14.7 GB available space
- Display resolution:1440 x 900; 1920 x 1080 recommended
- Graphics memory:4 GB VRAM recommended
- Internet:Required for activation and online content
Our verdict“Choose this bundle for guided photo-and-video projects under a three-year license; choose Photoshop for deeper photo-only control.”
Adobe Photoshop Elements 2027 – AI-Powered Photo Editing Software – 3-Year License (PC/Mac)
Photoshop Elements 2027 pairs AI-assisted edits with guided tutorials, making it a strong choice for people who want to learn while improving their photos. Tools for background removal and photo restoration handle common fixes without requiring a fully manual workflow, while built-in organization helps keep a growing library manageable. Compared with Luminar AI, Elements puts more emphasis on guided instruction and photo management than on a template-led AI look. That makes it better suited to mixed everyday editing than fast, dramatic stylistic changes. The tradeoff is a comparatively demanding computer setup for some advanced features, plus an internet connection for activation and online features. Windows on ARM support is limited, so buyers should check compatibility before choosing it.
Pros:- AI tools support quick edits such as background removal and photo restoration
- Guided tutorials help users learn editing techniques as they work
- Organizational features help manage photo collections
- Runs on Windows 11 and macOS
Cons:- Internet is required for activation and online features
- Windows on ARM support is limited
- Some advanced features may need stronger hardware than the minimum specifications
Best for: PC or Mac users who want AI-assisted everyday edits, guided lessons, and basic photo-library organization in one application.
Not ideal for: Windows on ARM users, or photographers who want broad platform access and a flexible mobile workflow like the one described for Skylum Luminar AI.
- Operating system:Windows 11, macOS
- Processor:64-bit Intel Core 9th Gen or newer; AMD with AVX2 and SSE4.2 support
- RAM:8 GB minimum; 16 GB recommended
- Available storage:9.6 GB
- Display:1280 × 800 minimum; 1920 × 1080 recommended
- Windows graphics:1.5 GB GPU memory
- Internet:Required for activation and online features
- License:3-year license
Our verdict“Choose Photoshop Elements 2027 if you want guided AI editing and photo organization on a compatible PC or Mac.”
Luminar AI Photo Editing Software for Mac and Windows 10 Pro – 2 Seats
Luminar AI is the pick here for buyers who want AI to shape the image, not just speed up routine corrections. Its SkyAI, FaceAI, and SkinAI tools target specific visual changes, while templates offer a quick route to a consistent style. Compared with Adobe Photoshop Elements 2027, Luminar AI leans more toward ready-made creative transformations and less toward guided learning or photo organization. The two-seat license can also suit a household or a photographer working across two computers. The tradeoffs are a stated 10 GB memory requirement and narrower platform details: the listing names Windows 10 and Mac OS X, so buyers on newer or older systems should verify compatibility. It is a less natural fit for people who prefer hands-on control over automated looks.
Pros:- SkyAI, FaceAI, and SkinAI target common creative and portrait edits
- Templates make it easier to apply a consistent visual style
- Interface is described as suitable for beginners and professionals
- License includes two seats
Cons:- Requires 10 GB of memory according to the listing
- Operating-system compatibility is listed as Windows 10 and Mac OS X, with no newer version details
- Template-led automation may not suit photographers who want fine manual control
Best for: Portrait and travel photographers who want AI-assisted sky changes, face and skin adjustments, and template-based editing on two seats.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need extensive photo organization, highly manual editing controls, or confirmed support for operating systems beyond those listed.
- Operating systems:Windows 10, Mac OS X
- Processor:64-bit
- Memory:10 GB
- Seats:2
- AI tools:SkyAI, FaceAI, SkinAI
- Creative workflow:Templates for applying editing styles
Our verdict“Pick Luminar AI if creative sky and portrait changes matter more to you than guided lessons or library management.”
Skylum Luminar AI Photo Editing Software – Lifetime License for Desktop, Mobile, and Web
This Luminar AI lifetime-license listing stands out for its stated reach across Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, and web, alongside support for RAW, JPEG, and PNG. Its tools cover a broad range of AI-assisted changes, from portrait retouching and sky replacement to object removal, relighting, and color grading. It can run as a standalone app or as a Lightroom plugin, giving Lightroom users a way to add these edits without replacing their existing workflow. Compared with the two-seat Luminar AI listing, this version foregrounds multi-platform access and lifetime licensing rather than named SkyAI, FaceAI, and SkinAI tools. The range may appeal to flexible workflows, but beginners may face a learning curve, and the product data does not specify hardware requirements or detail how capabilities vary by platform.
Pros:- Listed for Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, and web
- Supports RAW, JPEG, and PNG files
- Offers AI tools for portraits, skies, object removal, relighting, and color grading
- Can be used standalone or as a Lightroom plugin, with a lifetime license
Cons:- May take time for beginners to learn
- Compatible hardware requirements are not specified in the supplied product data
- The listing does not explain whether all features are available on every platform
Best for: Photographers who move among desktop, mobile, and web workflows and want AI editing with RAW support and Lightroom integration.
Not ideal for: Beginners who want a clearly guided editing path, or buyers who need detailed hardware requirements and confirmed feature parity across devices.
- Platforms:Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, web
- License:Lifetime
- Supported formats:RAW, JPEG, PNG
- Editing features:AI auto enhancements, portrait retouching, sky replacement, object removal, relighting, background edits, color grading
- Integration:Standalone application or Lightroom plugin
Our verdict“Choose this Luminar AI edition if platform flexibility and Lightroom integration matter more than a guided beginner workflow.”
CyberLink PowerDirector & PhotoDirector 2026 | AI Video and Photo Editing Software for Windows
PowerDirector and PhotoDirector 2026 make sense for Windows users who edit moving and still images, since the bundle combines two applications under one lifetime license. For photo work, the listing highlights AI retouching, masking, object removal, and batch editing; batch processing is especially useful when the same cleanup needs to be applied across a group of images. Compared with the standalone CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026, this package adds video editing rather than focusing solely on photos. That breadth comes with a catch: generative AI tools require separately purchased credits, so the lifetime license does not cover every AI capability mentioned. It is also Windows-only, and the supplied download-code format means there is no physical disc. Choose it for a combined workflow, not if you only need a dedicated photo editor.
Pros:- Combines PhotoDirector photo editing with PowerDirector video editing
- Includes AI-assisted retouching, masking, and object removal
- Batch editing can speed up work across multiple photos
- Lifetime license covers both applications
Cons:- Generative AI tools require separately purchased AI credits
- Compatible only with 64-bit Windows 10 or 11
- Provided as a download code with no physical disc
Best for: Windows users who edit photos and videos and want AI-assisted retouching, object work, and batch photo processing in one bundle.
Not ideal for: Mac users, photo-only editors who do not need PowerDirector, or buyers expecting generative AI use to be included without separate credits.
- Compatibility:Windows 10/11, 64-bit
- Included applications:PowerDirector 2026 and PhotoDirector 2026
- License:Lifetime license for both applications
- Delivery:Download code; no physical disc
- Photo features:AI retouching, masking, object removal, batch editing
- Generative AI:Requires separate AI credits
Our verdict“Choose the bundle if you need both photo and video editing on Windows and can work around separate generative AI credits.”
CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | AI Photo Editing Software for Windows
PhotoDirector 2026 focuses on practical AI-assisted photo tasks: object and wire removal, face retouching, background removal, color enhancement, and batch editing. That makes it a more direct fit for a Windows photo workflow than the PowerDirector & PhotoDirector bundle if video editing is not part of the plan. Batch tools can reduce repetitive work across multiple images, while background and object edits help with common cleanup jobs. The tradeoff is that generative AI features require separate credits, so the listed feature set does not mean every AI operation is included on the same terms. New users may also need time to learn the application. Compared with Photoshop Elements 2027, this listing emphasizes specific retouching and removal tools rather than guided tutorials and photo organization.
Pros:- AI tools address object removal, wire removal, face retouching, and background removal
- Batch editing can save time across multiple images
- Color enhancement adds another practical correction tool
- Photo-focused alternative to the PowerDirector and PhotoDirector bundle
Cons:- Generative AI tools require separately purchased credits
- New users may face a learning curve
- Windows-only platform limits use on Mac and mobile devices
Best for: Windows users who regularly clean up groups of photos and want tools for object removal, wire removal, retouching, and backgrounds.
Not ideal for: Mac users, beginners who want guided tutorials, or buyers who expect generative AI tools to be covered without separate credits.
- Platform:Windows
- Software type:AI photo editing software
- AI editing features:Object removal, face retouch, wire removal, background removal
- Batch editing:Included
- Color tool:Color enhancer
- Generative AI:Tools available; AI credits sold separately
Our verdict“Pick PhotoDirector 2026 for Windows-based batch cleanup and retouching if separate generative AI credits are acceptable.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options by how well they serve real photo-editing workflows, not by the number of AI features named in a product listing. The main criteria were the usefulness of AI-assisted edits, the balance between automation and manual control, ease of learning, and the ability to handle both quick fixes and more involved work. I also weighed whether a product is focused on photos or bundled with video and design tools, since extra apps add value only when a buyer will use them.
Ranking also reflects practical fit: platform compatibility, license structure, and the difference between a standalone editor and a larger software suite. Photoshop leads for breadth and control, while Lightroom ranks highly for photo-library workflows; PhotoDirector stands out for buyers seeking approachable creative tools. Products with narrower roles, older named editions, or less direct photo focus rank lower for a general-purpose roundup, though they may suit a specific workflow better. Where products appear in multiple editions or license forms, I treat those distinctions as buying decisions rather than assuming the versions are interchangeable.
| AI photo editing software | Platform |
|---|---|
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | — |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 U | Windows |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Pre | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB Subscripti | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Lightroom 1TB | AI-assis | PC and Mac |
| PhotoPad Photo Editing and Ima | — |
| Adobe Creative Cloud Pro | 20+ | — |
| Corel PaintShop Pro 2023 Ultim | PC; Windows 10 or 11 |
| Adobe Photoshop | Professional | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements & Pre | PC and Mac |
| Adobe Photoshop Elements 2027 | — |
| Luminar AI Photo Editing Softw | — |
| Skylum Luminar AI Photo Editin | — |
| CyberLink PowerDirector & Phot | — |
| CyberLink PhotoDirector 2026 | | Windows |
Factors to Consider When Choosing AI Photo Editing Software
AI features can save time, but the right editor depends just as much on what happens before and after an automatic edit. I’d match the software to your file habits, editing confidence, and license preferences before choosing based on a feature list.
Match AI Automation to the Edits You Actually Make
Start with the tasks you repeat: removing distractions, improving portraits, adjusting light, or creating composites. Automation is most useful when it handles routine changes while leaving you a way to refine the result. A guided tool may suit occasional edits, but a photographer correcting a large batch will care more about repeatability and control across images. Avoid treating every AI feature as a benefit; tools aimed at graphics or video may add clutter if you only adjust photos. Before committing, check whether the editor lets you revise an automated result rather than accepting it as a finished effect. The best fit is the one that reduces repetitive work without making your images look less like your own.
Decide Whether You Need a Library or a Canvas
Photo editing software often centers on one of two jobs: managing a growing image collection or changing an individual image in detail. A catalog-based workflow can help when you need to sort, search, and revisit many photos; a layer-based canvas matters more for composites, retouching, and graphic work. Buyers sometimes choose a powerful editor and only later realize that organizing files remains awkward or separate. Think about where your images live, how you name and back them up, and whether you need to find edits months later. If organization is already handled elsewhere, a focused editor may be enough. If your library is becoming hard to manage, prioritize workflow tools alongside AI editing.
Compare License Length and Ongoing Access
A subscription and a fixed-term license create different obligations, even when the software’s editing purpose seems similar. Subscriptions can suit buyers who want continuing access to a changing toolset, while a longer-term license may be easier to plan around if you prefer a defined period of use. Check what happens when access ends, whether updates are included, and whether cloud services or generative features have separate limits. A product name alone may not tell you which license applies: this roundup includes several Adobe plans and Elements editions with distinct terms. Don’t compare a multi-app bundle with a single editor as though their included software were identical. Choose based on the tools and access period you will genuinely use.
Check Platform and Device Requirements Before Buying
Compatibility can narrow the field before editing features matter. Confirm the specific edition supports your operating system, and check system requirements against the computer you plan to use rather than relying on a broad product title. Some listings distinguish desktop software from mobile or web access, and similarly named versions may not offer the same device coverage. If you move between machines, find out how many installations or seats the license permits and whether projects sync between devices. Also consider whether you need a stable internet connection for sign-in, cloud services, or AI processing. A short compatibility check can prevent a mismatch that no editing feature can fix.
Pay for a Bundle Only When the Extra Apps Fit
Software bundles can look like better value because they include more tools, but unused apps do not improve a photo workflow. A photo-and-video package is useful if you regularly edit both; a broad creative suite makes more sense when design, illustration, or other media work is part of your routine. Extra software can also mean more interfaces to learn and more decisions about where a task belongs. List the jobs you expect to do over the next year, then compare them with what each package actually includes. If your needs are limited to still-image edits, a focused product may be easier to maintain. If several creative tasks already compete for separate tools, a suite may simplify your setup.
Choose an Editor You Can Grow Into Without Overbuying
Beginners often buy for advanced capabilities they may not use, while experienced editors can outgrow a guided tool’s controls. Consider how much time you want to spend learning, whether you need direct manual adjustments, and how often you expect your work to become more complex. A simpler interface can help you finish everyday edits sooner, but it may offer fewer ways to recover from an unwanted AI change. A professional editor rewards practice with more control, though its extra complexity is only useful if you will learn it. Look for a workflow that supports your current needs and has a clear next step if those needs expand. That balance is more useful than choosing the most feature-heavy option by default.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose Photoshop or Lightroom for AI photo editing?
Choose Lightroom if your main challenge is organizing and editing a large photo collection with a consistent workflow. Photoshop fits better when you need detailed retouching, layers, compositing, or broader control over individual images. Their AI-assisted tools do not make them interchangeable: the surrounding workflow is the deciding factor. If you routinely move between library adjustments and complex image work, compare the access plan that includes the tools you need. For a single editor, start with the task you perform most often rather than the feature list that sounds most advanced.
Is a three-year Elements license a better fit than an Adobe subscription?
It can be a better fit if you prefer a defined license period and want guided photo editing without committing to a recurring plan. A subscription may suit buyers who want access to a broader or changing toolset, depending on the specific plan. Check the exact product included: the photo-only Elements edition differs from the bundle that also includes Premiere Elements. Also verify what access and updates continue after the license term, since license labels alone do not answer that question. Compare the tools you will use during the full term, not just the headline duration.
Can I use these AI photo editors on both Windows and Mac?
No single answer applies to every listing in this roundup. Several products are specifically described as Windows software, while some Adobe and Luminar listings name both PC and Mac or multiple device types. Confirm the operating system and edition on the exact product page before purchasing, since similar names can refer to different versions. Check hardware requirements as well, particularly if you expect to work with large image files or AI-assisted processing. If you edit across devices, verify seat limits and whether files or settings sync between them.
Do I need a photo-and-video bundle if I only edit pictures?
Usually not; the added video app is useful only if you expect to edit video as well. In this lineup, the Elements bundle and CyberLink PowerDirector and PhotoDirector pair photo tools with video software, while standalone options keep the focus narrower. Bundles can reduce the need to choose separate programs, but they also add interfaces and features you may never open. Consider whether video editing is a real part of your routine rather than a possible future interest. If photos are your only priority, compare the dedicated photo edition first.
What should I check before choosing a Luminar AI license?
Compare the exact license description, supported devices, and included access rather than assuming similarly named Luminar listings are identical. This roundup includes a two-seat desktop listing and a separate lifetime-license listing that names desktop, mobile, and web use. Confirm which platforms are supported by the version being sold and whether the license covers the devices you plan to use. Look for any stated limits on AI features or online services, since a perpetual software license does not automatically mean every connected feature is permanent. Choose the listing whose terms match how and where you edit.
Conclusion
For the broadest photo-editing toolkit, I’d choose Adobe Photoshop as the best overall; for a catalog-centered workflow, Adobe Lightroom is the better match. CyberLink PhotoDirector 2027 Ultra is my pick for approachable creative editing and a strong value-oriented alternative, while Photoshop Elements 2027 suits beginners who want guided tools rather than a professional workflow. For a premium multi-app setup, choose Adobe Creative Cloud Pro only if you’ll use its wider creative software, not just its photo tools. If you also edit video, compare the Elements and CyberLink bundles; if your choice is Luminar, decide between the listed license terms and device coverage before buying. Match the software to your main editing task, then confirm the exact edition, platform, and access period.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.















